Glossary

Commonly used terminology seen throughout Dreams.

General

  • Homespace - Your personal area of the Dreamiverse, which you can customise, and other dreamers can visit.
  • Element - Stand-alone items used to populate scenes. Sculptures, paintings, sound effects, music, animated objects, microchips containing specific logic… all of these can be elements.
  • Scene - Like a scene in a movie, a level in a game, a chapter of a story, a room in a house… scenes are the constituent parts of dreams. Also refers to the workspace in which you create in Edit Mode.
  • Dream - Usually comprising a number of scenes linked together via doorways. You can, of course, have a dream with a single scene in it, should you wish to add a scoreboard, and have your creation appear in DreamSurfing.
  • Collection - An assortment of creations, collected together for any reason you like. Maybe it's your favourite creations. Maybe they're all to do with cats. A collection can contain any combination of elements, scenes and dreams.
  • Dreamiverse - Refers both to the online space of Dreams, where you can find, play, like and comment on creations, follow other dreamers, release your own creations and so on; and the menu system you use to navigate it.
  • Dreamer - A player of Dreams. Whether you create, play, or curate, if you use Dreams, you're a dreamer.
  • DreamShaping - Creating anything in Dreams - music, games, movies, art, animation, collections… Whether you're remixing or making from scratch, it's all DreamShaping.
  • DreamSurfing - Whiling away the time finding, playing, watching and generally consuming content on Dreams. Only dreams will appear in DreamSurfing, so remember to put your scenes in a dream if you want them to show up there.
  • AutoSurf - Hit the autosurf button on a playlist row in DreamSurfing, and you'll start automatically playing through dreams from that playlist. Hit autosurf in search, and you'll start playing through dreams randomly plucked from the Dreamiverse. Remember to include an exit doorway in your dreams, so that they finish properly in autosurf, going straight to the next dream without user intervention.
  • Quick Save - Saves the creation you're working on to your system. Will be overwritten by the next quick save. You must quick save a creation before you can save a version of it.
  • Save Version - Save a version of a creation. You can save many versions of a creation, in different states, but only one version can be released at a time.
  • Version - Versions are the same creation but saved in different states, as a backup, or to experiment with a different creative direction, and so on.
  • Release - Releasing puts a creation online for the world to see. There are 2 types of release - public and playable - but their availability depends on the category of creation you're releasing, and the ownership and status of its contents.
  • Public - A public creation can be remixed, stamped, edited and generally made into something else by anyone. The original creator of a public creation is always known, via genealogy and creation credits.
  • Playable - A playable creation is discoverable and playable via search, but nobody but the creator can remix it or make it public. Anyone, however, can add it to dreams and collections, where the creator will be credited.
  • Private - A private creation will be saved online, but not discoverable via search. This is the best option for group projects or testing amongst friends. Only collaborators added by the creator can find or edit a private creation.
  • Remix - A brand new copy of a creation. You can remix your own creations, or any public creation, and make it into something completely different.
  • Genealogy - Traces the evolution and use of a creation, showing its contents, any creations it's used in, and any remixes of it.
  • Creation Credits - Every creation has a clickable "full credits" link under its title, taking you to details of the author and all creators who made something used in the creation.
  • Collaborator - Someone invited to collaborate on a creation by the original creator. Their actions are limited to making edits to the creation itself - they cannot release it, or edit the cover page details in any way - and any changes they make can only be saved as a private version, which the original creator can choose to use or not.

Create mode

  • Assembly Mode - The “landing” mode. All other modes are accessible from here. Put together elements, scenes, animations, etc using objects created in the art modes and sound mode.
  • Sculpt Mode - The primary art mode. Create and modify shapes in 3D to make sculptures.
  • Paint Mode - Create and modify strokes in 3D to make paintings.
  • Coat Mode - Apply finishing touches (e.g. tint, glow) to existing paintings and sculptures.
  • Style Mode - Modify properties (e.g. looseness, ruffle) of the flecks on existing paintings and sculptures.
  • Effects Mode - Add animated effects (e.g. boil, flow) to existing paintings and sculptures.
  • Sound Mode - Create, modify and perform audio (music, sound effects, etc)
  • Test Mode - Play-test and analyse your creations.
  • Update Mode - Manage updates to items in your creations.
  • Photo Mode - Take photos of your creations.
  • Button Prompts - As you start working, you'll notice lots of button prompts appear around your imp(s), with an icon for the button and a wee bit of text. These remind you of controls you might need, tailored to what you're up to at the time. You'll notice they change as you work. You can turn them on and off in My Preferences, under Display, using the Show Prompts toggle.
  • Mode Indicator - In the top left corner of your screen (or the bottom left if you've selected Bottom under Menu Position in My Preferences) you'll see an icon. This is the mode indicator. Hover over it and it'll show you which mode you're in, and which tool you're currently using. Select it and it'll expand to show the mode prompts, i.e. commonly-used controls for the current mode.
  • More Info Tooltips - When you hover your imp tip over a menu button or a tweak for a few seconds, you'll get a more info tooltip describing what it does, how to use it, and anything to watch out for. You can adjust the time they take to appear, or turn them on and off, in My Preferences, under Display. The menu more infos are all replicated in the Edit Mode Guides, so you can have them open on a second screen while you work.
Info circled

The Dreams User Guide is a work-in-progress. Keep an eye out for updates as we add more learning resources and articles over time.