VR Compatibility Labelling

VR compatibility labels are used in the Dreamiverse to show players whether a dream, scene or element can be played in VR. If your creation doesn’t have a label, it won’t be visible to players using VR (unless they have turned off VR content filtering).

Adding a label to one of your creations is easy, but you must test it in VR first. A scene or element cannot be labelled VR Compatible or VR Only if it has not been played or viewed in VR at least once. If you do not own a VR headset, a collaborator can test it for you. However only you, the creator, can set the VR compatibility label.

Adding a Label to a New Creation

To add a VR compatibility label to a new creation, first test it in Play Mode Play mode using your VR headset.

If you are happy that your creation is VR-friendly, return to Edit Mode Pencil then select Quick Save Quicksave in the options menu.

Quick Save via the options menu

Quick Save via the options menu

Choose whether you are saving an element or a scene and select a category for your creation.

Select the type of creation

Select the type of creation

Choose a category for your creation

Choose a category for your creation

If you are wearing your VR headset, you will now be given the option to choose a label.

If you removed your headset, you will not have the option to set the label at this point. Instead, finish saving your creation, then follow the steps below for editing or adding a label to a saved creation.

VR compatibility labelling options

VR compatibility labelling options

See Choosing a Label, below, for more details on each option.

If you are saving a dream, the options for VR Compatible and VR Only will not be available if your dream contains unlabelled scenes, or scenes labelled Non-VR.

Once you have chosen a label, confirm the choice by selecting the Tick button in the corner, then give your creation a name.

Your creation is now ready for VR!

Editing or Adding a Label to a Saved Creation

To edit the VR compatibility label, or to add one to a previously saved creation, go to My Creations on your profile.

Select the creation with Cross button to open its cover page.

Above the title, you will see the label for that creation or an option to Set VR Compatibility. This option is only available to the creator, and cannot be set by collaborators.

Labels can be set via a creation’s cover page

Labels can be set via a creation’s cover page

Select it with Cross button to edit or add a label.

See Choosing a Label, below, for more details on each option.

Remember - you must play or view a creation using a VR headset before you can add a VR Compatible or VR Only label. If you do not own a VR headset, a collaborator can play or view it in VR for you.

Once you have chosen a label, confirm the choice by selecting the Tick button in the corner of the screen.

Your creation is now ready for VR!

If a creation has not been tested in VR, some options are not available

If a creation has not been tested in VR, some options are not available

Choosing a VR Label

You can choose Not Sure, Non-VR Non-VR, VR Compatible VR compatible or VR Only VR only

The default option is Not Sure. When this is selected, the creation will not be visible to players searching the Dreamiverse for VR creations (unless the player has turned off VR content filtering).

Creations labelled Non-VR Non-VR are hidden in the Dreamiverse for players using VR (unless the player has turned off VR content filtering) and can only be played in cinema mode when in VR.

VR Compatible VR compatible creations are visible to VR players and non-VR players.

VR Only VR only will hide the creation for non-VR players and cannot be played by non-VR players.

Info circled

The Dreams User Guide is a work-in-progress. Keep an eye out for updates as we add more learning resources and articles over time.